FISH · FOOD · MEAL IDEAS

Salmon Two Ways

I’ve been perusing the internet looking for a Salmon Cake recipe. Well, first I checked out my cookbooks because I thought surely there would be a recipe there. I have, after all, more cookbooks than I really need, but no luck. Considering most of my cookbooks are raw or vegan, I’m not setting myself up for a successful Salmon Cake Recipe hunt!

So, internet here we come! I found some interesting recipes, but nothing that called my name. As I was searching, I realized that I don’t want to fry my cakes, I want to bake them in a muffin tin. There has to be a cyber recipe for that, right?

There is. But most recipes I found used tinned salmon whereas I have a honking big slab of wild caught salmon in my fridge. No tinny tin tins here, my friends! 

   

 

  And another thing… I am avoiding a few things these days, to make both my body and my naturopath happy. No wheat for this girl. No egg whites. No soy. No dairy. No worries, right? As I was hunting for a BAKED, FRESH salmon WHEATLESS, EGGLESS, DAIRY-LESS, cake, it dawned on me that I was wasting my time.

“Girl”, I said to myself, “you know how to do this. You don’t need a  cyber recipe. Just do it.”

So I did. And voilà, the results are in. THESE ROCK!!!! I’m so glad I didn’t find my old recipe because these are way way way better.

Ingredients:

Wild caught salmon – put on parchment paper/baking sheet in over and cook for about 10 minutes (350 Celsius). This will make it flakier and easier to mix in with the rest of the ingredients.

In bowl, mix the following:

4 eggs (or egg substitute), 1 finely diced red pepper, 3/4 cup finely chopped parsley, 1 or 2 white onions (I did one onion and some celeriac), 3 or 4 finely diced jalapeños (I like it HOT!), the partially cooked and flaked fish.

Mix well and then start adding the oatmeal. I just put it in by the handfuls and stopped when the mixture was no longer sticking to the bowl and was more like cookie dough batter. In the end, I would guess I added somewhere between 3/4 cup to 1 cup of oatmeal.

Grease up your muffin tin and put in the mixture. You can fill it up almost right up to the top.

Bake at 350 Celsius for 20 minutes, or until golden.

 

  I served this with a side of Celeriac & onion mash, and some Brown Rice. Tomorrow, I’ll have a couple for lunch with a side salad. You can put them in a wrap, eat them warm or cold, smother them in sauce or eat them as a burger. I love these little salmon cakes and hope you do too!

  

Leave a Reply

