COOKBOOK · gluten free · RECIPES · VEGAN · VEGETARIAN · Weight Watchers SmartPoints

Deprivation & Spicy Cauliflower Sauté 

In dog training, we talk about deprivation as a training concept. What the dog has been deprived of, he will work harder for. This does not mean being cruel of course. It just means that you may use beef to reinforce, but not at every training session. You may use exercise to manipulate deprivation. For example, take your dog for a long run, then teach your dog a new trick, using beef as the reinforcement. You get it!

As a dog has been deprived of beef, I have been deprived of cauliflower.  Not just me – a lot of people are craving cauliflower! It’s been so expensive, that the market has created this deprivation. We’ve been manipulated, folks. Hehehe

Any hoo… I’m sure I’m not the only one cooking with cauliflower now that you don’t have to re-mortgage your home to buy a head.

This recipe is from Precision Nutrition, a book that was recommended to me by my fit friend Leslie.


Gorgeous, right? I mean, Leslie is gorgeous, but this book! A beauty! (Note this is a Omni book, but has a lot of great veg recipes).

Granted, it is not a difficult recipe… but I think I nailed it!

(For my Weight Watcher friends, this is 5 SmartPoints for half of this portion.)



The recipe calls for cinnamon. I cannot stand cinnamon in savory so I didn’t use it. Instead of Safflower oil, I used sesame. Delicious.

I’ve really been enjoying this Gourmet Nutrition: The Cookbook for the Fit Food Lover

I do not feel deprived at all …

Chantal

 

Leave a Reply

